Well Technology and Drilling

Drilling and well operations represent the high end both with respect to risk and cost for any company’s field development strategy. The focus of this new D&W network (established 2Q 2020) is to collaborate and share learnings and knowledge to enable drilling and well operation performance improvement, by increasing awareness and uptake of drilling, completion and well intervention technology.


This network will have overlapping topics with “Production Optimization and Reservoir Management” network, and seeks good collaboration between the two groups.

The following main themes have been identified as key:

  • Maximize values
  • Identify challenges, current situation and future state
  • Share learnings related to identified challenges


D&W Sub themes to be discussed in quarterly network group meetings. Each participant will be encouraged to bring subjects for open discussion. Themes for L&L and seminars will be decided based on input from members and output from discussions



Provide an informal arena for discussion of Drilling and Well operations issues

Organize quarterly network discussion forums, 1-2 day seminars, and lunch & learn sessions

Bring contractors, academia and energy companies together to discuss relevant topics

We encourage service companies, oil companies and academics to contact the network group if they have ideas or project proposals that they want to bring to the attention of this community.


Network members per 06.10.2023

Endre Slettebø AS Norske Shell
Terje Andre Pedersen, Bjørn Mysen, Erik Sigvartsen, Jan Roger Berg Aker BP
Svein Tore Brundtland ConocoPhillips
Morten Hedemark Concedo ASA
Kjetil Vastveit DNO
Raghavendra Kulkarni, Halvor Kjørholdt, Ali-Reza Fard Equinor
Anders Nergaard Harbour Energy
Ted Tadesse INPEX Idemitsu Norge
Gerhard Sund, Bjørn Schmidt Neptune Energy Norge
Jan Butler Wang The Norwegian Offshore Directorate
Ørjan Johannessen OKEA
Csaba Koch, Julius Rädlein, Michaela Gunhildrud OMV
Stein Håvardstein, Marianne Torstensen Petoro
Piotr Boryczko, Jan Tarek Østebø Nakhelh, Nils Lilleløkken PGNiG
Roar Stavholt Repsol Norge AS
Kristian Lundemo Sval Energi
Thor D. Blunck TotalEnergies
Tor Ivar Lyse Vår Energi 
Lars Lilledal Wellesley Petroleum
Christian Allerstorfer Wintershall Dea Norge AS

Updated: 30/12/2023

Did you find what you were looking for?

Do not enter personal information here.

We don't answer request from this form. We only use this response to improve the website.